Poetry: Reminiscing on past poetry

Hello, Sunday! Monday!

Today we’re in for a special post, I’ve managed to locate some old poetry of mine, and so for this and the next two posts I’ll be sharing my old poetry written some years ago. Let’s get started,

The Wonder of Nature

In the forest rose the pines,
Overlooking the golden mines.
There, swinging from tree to tree,
Was a great big grinning chimpanzee.

As it swung from here to there,
It had a spied a grizzly bear.
And it started up the call,
Which sounded like a bored drawl.

Others took up the cheer,
Warning all not to come near.
Then the chimp from tree to tree,
Jumped and hooted with sheer glee!!

-Adithyaa Raghavan
VIII

I have no idea how my 14 year old self managed to land a poor chimp in a coniferous forest. I recall I wrote this poem shortly after learning that many species of apes communicate using sounds to warn each other of danger. Either way, I hope you enjoyed this post, and stay tuned metaphorically for next week’s poem.

Signing out,

Adithyaa

Leave a Reply

