Poem: More past poetry

Hello, Friday!

Here the second poem I dug out of the archives, a poem that has about as much depth as a kiddie pool, but uses what used to be a oft spoken phrase of mine,

 

Me, Myself and I

 

Me, Myself and I

Three people yet the same

Me, Myself and I

Quite different but the name

Me, Myself and I

People times triplicate

Me, Myself and I

One and its duplicates

Me, Myself and I

Not but a phrase

Me, Myself and I

But one which would amaze

Me, Myself and I

Describes the same person

Me, Myself and I

And yet applies to daughter and son

Me, Myself and I

This hast cometh to end

Me, Myself and I

Such a delightful phrase to bend!

-Adithyaa.R

13/8/2011

I wrote this poem about 5 and a half years ago, using a rhyming scheme I rarely practice in, by repeating a particular phrase multiple times. An interesting aspect of this poem is that after one reads it several times, you unconsciously omit the repeating phrase while reading it in your head, and yet, it maintains a good poetic flow even without it.

I used to love throwing idioms and phrases around (As a kid I used to like reading through dictionaries to discover new words), and I used to use “Me, Myself and I” quite frequently when referring to myself. I suppose the phrase had just stuck to me, it has a rather pleasant ring to itself.

Onwards until next time,

Adithyaa~

 

Leave a Reply

